Tibidi


Ariane Rousseau, Muriel Legrand and Julie Leyder got hooked on using their voices to unravel works from the classical repertoire (Bach, Purcell), classic French chansons (Nougaro, Gainsbourg, Lapointe) and international hits (Beatles, Bowie, Queen). They arrange also their own compositions.

Their technique is a cappella singing, or more precisely close harmony (or close voicing), a way of arranging the notes of a chord in a scale, recently popularised by groups such as the Double Six or the Frères Jacques. The Tibidi girls are addicted to the harmonisation game, melding their three voices to form a single sound, containing all the music, including the accompaniment or drumbeat.

They take great care to find the right accent, the right phrasing, combining it with an insolent sense of humour, giving each piece a new syncopated, unexpected harmony. They like to tell jokes and mix genres.

The record


The delicate task of recreating in the recording studio a repertoire developed for the stage was entrusted to the producer Gil Mortio.

They came up with the idea of using a 1960s Hammond organ, which fits in well with the aesthetic approach of the three singer-actresses.

The pianist and keyboardist Eric Bribosia (Karim Gharbi, Kangling, Yokai, Lyenn, les chroniques de l’inutile, Anja Kowalski) joined the adventure to form with Gil Mortio (Joy as a toy, Karim Gharbi, Valley of love) and the trio a real quintet.

To emphasise the retro instrumentation, Pierre Valfrey recorded everything in a single take, the old-fashioned way, complementing the studio recordings with a day in a chapel, which intensified the reverberation of the voices and organs.

Tibidi’s little jewels have found their jewel case.

Music


Agenda


No shows booked at the moment.

Tibidi


Ariane Rousseau, Muriel Legrand et Julie Leyder réinventent des œuvres du répertoire classique (Bach, Purcell), des standards de la chanson française (Nougaro, Gainsbourg, Lapointe) et des tubes internationaux (Beatles, Bowie, Queen). Elles composent aussi leurs propres morceaux.

Leur technique, c’est le chant a cappella. Plus précisément la close harmony (ou close voicing), cette façon d’arranger les notes d’un accord dans une gamme, popularisée naguère par des formations comme les Double Six ou les Frères Jacques. Les filles de Tibidi sont accros à ce travail d’harmonisation qui fait fondre leurs trois voix en un son unique, qui contient toute la musique, y compris l’accompagnement ou les percussions.

Elles prennent grand soin à trouver l’accent qui sonne juste, un phrasé soigné. Le tout avec un humour insolent, qui les pousse à trouver pour chaque morceau une nouvelle harmonie décalée, détonnante. Un goût assumé de la plaisanterie et du mélange des genres.

Le disque


La délicate mission de recréer dans le studio d’enregistrement ce répertoire buriné pour la scène a été confiée au musicien et producteur Gil Mortio.

L’orgue Hammond des années 1960 s’est imposé comme instrument « fil rouge » de l’album », cela colle bien avec les repères esthétiques des trois comédiennes-vocalistes. Le pianiste et claviériste Eric Bribosia (Karim Gharbi, Kangling, Yokai, Lyenn, les chroniques de l’inutile et Anja Kowalski Wolke) a donc rejoint l’aventure pour former avec Gil Mortio (Joy as a Toy, Karim Gharbi, Valley of Love) et le trio Tibidi un véritable quintet.

Pour accentuer l’instrumentation « datée », Pierre Valfrey a tout enregistré en même temps, à l’ancienne, ajoutant aux enregistrements en studio une journée dans une chapelle. Histoire d’accentuer la réverbération des voix et des orgues.

Les petits bijoux de Tibidi ont trouvé leur écrin.

Musique


Agenda


Date Ville Salle
27/06/17 Bruxelles La Samaritaine
Heure: 20:30.
28/06/17 Bruxelles La Samaritaine
Heure: 20:30.
29/06/17 Bruxelles La Samaritaine
Heure: 20:30.
30/06/17 Bruxelles La Samaritaine
Heure: 20:30.
01/07/17 Bruxelles La Samaritaine
Heure: 20:30.